The pastrami sandwich.

Growing up fablously and purely bicoastal, there are only four places in the entire country I can think of when I want a pastrami sandwich.

They are: Katz’s Deli, Carnegie Deli, Langer’s Deli, and Canter’s Deli.

Best Pastrami in the 10002.

Each one of these places has a special place in my heart. Katz’s Deli is the first pastrami sandwich I’ve ever had. There was one pastrami sandwich for my friend, me, and my father. Obviously dad ate most of it. Those pastrami sandwiches look like a LOT of food when you’re little. Not much has changed. It still takes 2 people to eat one sandwich there.. and there’s always a bit leftover. Katz’s Deli has been in the LES for over 100 years and you really cant beat that place for downtown.

the carnegie deli on 55th / 7th

Carnegie Deli is the place I go to the most when I’m in the mood for a pastrami sandwich. I started ordering from there quite a bit when Fresh used to be at 888 7th Avenue. The place was merely a block away and satisfied all my pastrami cravings. Those sandwiches are also huge, and completetly mouth watering.

As most of you know, I spent a good chunk of my life in Los Angeles as well. In LA with all my bulemic In and Out, Del Taco, Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf, and El Pollo Loco fast food binges, there were times I just craved a good old chunky pastrami sandwich with jewish rye.

Luckily, whenever I spent extended periods of time in LA, I was always by ghettotastic Mac Arthur Park, near the corner of Alvarado and Wilshire. The only good part about that area was being close to the red line and being able to walk to Langers. It’s pretty rare to be in an area in LA where you can walk to where you want to go. Regardless, that’s part of the reason why I love Langer’s so much. Langer’s actually has a pastrami sandwich on par with Katz and Carnegie; It’s the best in LA.

Langer’s Pastrami Sandwiches are also a good $3 cheaper than Carnegie or Katz. Then again its NYC.

And of course, there’s always Canter’s Deli. Out of the four, it’s probably my least favourite but from what I recall, Canter’s pastrami sandwiches are alright. It’s a hub for the Hollywood types. Perhaps that’s why I preferred Langers- for the mere fact that I don’t have to see a constant flux of scenester type LA people while eating a sandwich.

Right now I have no idea what possessed me to write a blog entry on Pastrami Sandwiches. Perhaps it’s because I have a really strong craving for a Langer’s Pastrami Sandwich (The meat is a bit softer than Carnegie / Katz) and alas, I’m stuck in New York.

The fact that I can order a Langer’s Pastrami by air is really tempting me right now. Jeany, YOU CAN WALK TO CARNEGIE. Sorry, I just had to tell myself that.

Jewish Delis ROCK.

One response to “The pastrami sandwich.

  1. lmao sweet info bro.

Leave a comment